By Rail

First ScotRail operates the following main services within Scotland:

Ayrshire Coast Line – Glasgow Central to Ayr, Ardrossan and Largs

Edinburgh to Aberdeen Line – with connections to the Fife Circle, Tay Coast and Aberdeen to Inverness Lines

Fife Circle Line – from Edinburgh in to Fife

Glasgow-Edinburgh via Carstairs Line

Glasgow-Edinburgh via Falkirk Line

Glasgow South Western Line

Highland Main Line

Tay Coast Line

The West Highland Railway opened in 1894 and connected Glasgow Queen Street to Fort William; in 1901 an extension was opened from Fort William to Mallaig. There is also a branch from Crianlarich that runs to Oban; this was opened in 1865 as part of the line that originally ran from Callander, but the eastern section was closed in 1965.

The Glasgow Underground (or Subway) was opened in 1896 and is the only underground system in Scotland.

Check the relevant websites for details of timetables, tickets and further information.